Blog Tour, Book Review

-| Anthrax Island… Blog Tour |-

Today is my stop on the blog tour for Anthrax Island by D.L. Marshall, a big thank you to Emma from Damp Pebbles for inviting me along.
Let’s jump right in…

FACT: In 1942, in growing desperation at the progress of the war and fearing invasion by the Nazis, the UK government approved biological weapons tests on British soil. Their aim: to perfect an anthrax weapon destined for Germany. They succeeded.
FACT: Though the attack was never launched, the testing ground, Gruinard Island, was left lethally contaminated. It became known as Anthrax Island.
Now government scientists have returned to the island. They become stranded by an equipment failure and so John Tyler is flown in to fix the problem. He quickly discovers there’s more than research going on. When one of the scientists is found impossibly murdered inside a sealed room, Tyler realises he’s trapped with a killer…
A gripping thriller that will leave you guessing until the final page. Perfect for fans of Terry Hayes, James Swallow and Alistair MacLean.
-Goodreads-

This book is exactly why I love barely reading the synopsis and then forgetting them. I basically went into this book blind and it made the experience so intense. I was just expecting a spy thriller (as this was pitched for fans of Terry Hayes and James Swallow) what the author delivered was a spy thriller with a high stakes isolated murder mystery and I loved it! The constant threat of Anthrax mixed with a killer on the loose made for a very atmospheric read.

I think it’s pretty obvious that I read a lot of crime and murder mysteries so I was really impressed with the originality of Anthrax Island and I loved all the twists and turns.

John Tyler isn’t your typical hero, he works for himself with no loyalties to organisations but does still have morals at least. He would definitely be the one I would want to be with if I were to ever be in a dangerous situation. Seeing that this is the beginning of a series has me excited for what will happen next.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

-| Grab Your Copy Here |-

So Who Is D.L. Marshall?

D. L. Marshall was born and raised in Halifax, West Yorkshire. Influenced by the dark industrial architecture, steep wooded valleys, and bleak Pennine moors, he writes thrillers tinged with horror, exploring the impact of geography and isolation. In 2016 he pitched at Bloody Scotland. In 2018 he won a Northern Writers’ Award for his thriller novel Anthrax Island.
-| Connect |-
Instagram
Twitter

See you guys in the next one…

1 thought on “-| Anthrax Island… Blog Tour |-”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s